Let’s HIIT it!

Standard

Hello! Happy Thriday! I’m leaving for NYC bright and early tomorrow morning, so today is my Friday! 😀

I’m so excited to be going to NYC, but thought I’d check-in and do a little blogging before jetting off. I probably won’t be posting while I’m out of town, but rest assured dear friends, I’ll have plenty of pics from my travels. No worries! 😉

Today though, I’d like to talk to you about one of my favorite methods of training: HIIT!

No, not that kind of hit, the other kind. 😀

I’m sure most of you know what this is, or have at least heard of it. If not, here is a little run down of what HIIT training is all about!

High-intensity interval training (HIIT), also called High-Intensity Intermittent Exercise (HIIE) or sprint interval training, is an enhanced form of interval training, an exercise strategy alternating periods of short intense anaerobic exercise with less-intense recovery periods. HIIT is a form of cardiovascular exercise. Usual HIIT sessions may vary from 9–20 minutes. These short, intense workouts provide improved athletic capacity and condition, improved glucose metabolism, and improved fat burning.

I LOVE me some HIIT workouts! My HIIT workouts run around 20 minutes long. This is a cardio-driven workout routine, but don’t think you’re limited to just the treadmill if you want to do one! I also enjoy doing HIIT routines on the bikes and elliptical’s in the gym.

Below is an example of what a typical HIIT routine will look like with respect to the level of intensity and duration:

Beginner

Hiit Training 3

Hiit Training 1

Intermediate

Hiit Training 2

Advanced

Hiit Training 2

Hiit workout 1

Hiit Training 3

(Source)

These workouts are short, but man-oh-man are they effective! I usually combine my HIIT days with my strength training days.

Another slightly different approach to the traditional HIIT routine is the Tabata method. Commonly called “the single most effective type of high intensity interval training”, Tabata uses 20 seconds of super-intense exercise followed by 10 seconds of rest. This cycle is repeated 8 times for a duration of four minutes. Yeah you read that right, FOUR MINUTES AND YOU’RE DONE! 😀 Don’t be fooled by the short duration though, this method will totally kick your butt and leave you in a pool of tears sweat on the floor.

The secret to making this type of training effective though, it to go all out in those intense phases. You’ve GOT to push yourself! No pain, no gain! Remember, exercise isn’t supposed to be comfortable. If it were, everyone would do it, and we know not everyone does.

Tabata is especially useful with weights. Kettlebells, for example, are great tools to use during your tabata routine. Other exercises such as front squats or the push press are good too! Case in point, just be sure to use something that will work your biggest muscle groups, otherwise you won’t see that much benefit.

Finally, make sure that you allow your body adequate rest after you do a HIIT or Tabata routine. If you can do these routines everyday (especially the Tabata), you’re not doing them correctly.

I hope after you’ve read this post, you will share the same sentiments as my little friend here. 😀

About Running and Riley

Hello! My name is Julie. I'm a mother, working professional, aspiring runner, dancing and music addict, and general goof ball. I'm by no means a professional blogger...or writer...or photographer (wait, why am I blogging again? Just kidding!), so please excuse the many grammatical errors that are sure to appear on my little blog. I started runningandriley to chronicle some of my life's events, keep track of my workouts, and maybe inspire a few people along the way to live every day to the fullest! So welcome and I hope you join me on this journey! Love, Julie

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

