Tablerock: Day Two

Standard

A few more pics from day one: The Time Capsule….(?) Strange and cool.

RSCN0520

DSCN0499

aaaannnnddd this:

DSCN0523

LOL, there are no words. Things got cray, cray.

Anywho- onto DAY TWO!

On Saturday, Jason, Ryan, and their parents all went out on a guided fishing excursion in celebration of Jay, Ry, and Kent’s birthday’s. While they were out fishing all morning, Amy and I took the kids into Eureka Springs for brunch and a little sight seeing. (And maybe to let the kids wear off some of their energy Winking smile)

I absolutely ADORE Eureka Springs, AR. It is honestly one of the coolest and weirdest places I’ve ever been. It’s kind of a paradox actually.The architecture screams nineteenth and early twentieth century, but the shops and locals are a throw-back to the 1960’s. It’s really funny and I love it.

It has such a rich history as a place where only the most wealthy in society would go for health and relaxation purposes. As the name would suggest, there are so.many.springs. Natural, cool, springs that were believed to have healing powers. People would travel across the country from cities in order to be near the healing waters. Whether they actually work or not, I don’t know, but I’d like to believe there is a little magic in this world. Winking smile

Amy and I went to a local restaurant called Local Flavors. I love going to that place. The food is super yummy and they have some delicious mimosa’s and bloody mary’s. Open-mouthed smile I was in the mood for a burger, so I ordered one with a sliced avocado on top. YUM!! Riley had a delicious all-natural peanut butter, honey, and banana sandwich with sliced pears. He loved it – especially the pears! Winking smile

DSCN0531

After we were all fed, we decided to walk around the town and sightsee.

DSCN0528

DSCN0529

We also had to make a mandatory stop at the ice cream shack for some froyo.

DSCN0535

DSCN0532

It was delicious!

DSCN0537

DSCN0538

DSCN0539

LOL- Humpty Dumpty….sitting on a wall (let’s hope he doesn’t have a great fall Winking smile). I’m tellin’ ya, this town is special.

DSCN0540

We only stayed for a little while, because we had something to do that was super duper important, so we headed home.

We had been promising the kids all morning long that we would take them out on the boat. It was too cold to get in the lake, but perfect weather for a boat ride! Open-mouthed smile

DSCN0541

DSCN0543

DSCN0544

DSCN0546

DSCN0553

DSCN0558

DSCN0555

As awkward as that picture looks, trust me, it was way worse before I took this. Sarcastic smile

The kids were pretty tired after getting up early and being out on the boat, so Kent and Peggy took them back home to get them some dinner. Meanwhile, the rest of us went back out with the fishing boat to do a little early evening fishing. I got a couple bites, but didn’t catch anything. It was still a lot of fun though and incredibly relaxing to be out on the water at that time of day.

DSCN0565

DSCN0566

I haven’t been in a fishing boat like that before and almost fell into the water a couple times, but it was still fun. Luckily, I can swim. Winking smile Regardless, the lake was so beautiful.

DSCN0567

DSCN0569

DSCN0572

Gorgeous. Unfortunately, Sunday came all too soon and we had to leave. Sad smile It was sad, but I’m excited for when we can go back in August. Open-mouthed smile

About Running and Riley

Hello! My name is Julie. I'm a mother, working professional, aspiring runner, dancing and music addict, and general goof ball. I'm by no means a professional blogger...or writer...or photographer (wait, why am I blogging again? Just kidding!), so please excuse the many grammatical errors that are sure to appear on my little blog. I started runningandriley to chronicle some of my life's events, keep track of my workouts, and maybe inspire a few people along the way to live every day to the fullest! So welcome and I hope you join me on this journey! Love, Julie

Leave a Reply

