Soooo tight…

Standard

‘Ello, friends! Today, I’d like to talk to you about a new product that I’ve been trying out for the past couple weeks, and it has everything to do with running. I’m talking about compression, people. No, not support hose…even though in reality, it really is kinda sorta the same thing.

So why use compression?

“Every muscle cell needs energy in the form of oxygen. This is transported to the muscles via the blood. The better the blood flow in the arteries, the better the muscles are supplied – and precisely this supply can be positively influenced by compression.” – CEPCompression

Compression wear has been gaining momentum in the triathlete and running world because of its many perceived benefits. Among them are: energy, stamina, performance, increased blood circulation, stability of muscles and joints, preventative functions, alleviating shin splints, reduction of muscle trauma, etc. The list goes on and on.

My story:

Once upon a time, in a land not so far away, there was a girl named Julie….Okay, I can’t tell stories about myself in the third person, so here goes. 😉

As you know, I’ve taken a serious racing hiatus over the past couple years. I’ve run recreationally, but not seriously as I once did. There are a couple of reasons for this: I went from staying home with Riley to working full-time, I was finishing my MBA, and Ryan and I were building our house and all the fun stuff that goes with that.

I really missed running and decided that I needed some run-spiration. So I went and bought some new, brightly colored, running shoes.To my dismay, the simple act of buying new shoes would lead to even more painful problems. I almost immediately began to get shin splints, and they have plagued me ever since. That’s what I get for buying shoes for looks instead of paying attention to the actual shoe.

Upon investigation, I realized that the shoes I had bought were “stability” shoes instead of “neutral” shoes.   I know, I know…I should have paid attention – but I didn’t, and I paid for it. Every time I have run since, even after switching shoes and paying super close attention to my form, I’ve had shooting pains up and down the interior side of my tibia. I had it looked at by a doctor, and they determined it wasn’t a stress fracture (thank goodness!).

I had no choice but to suck it up, let myself heal as best I could, and try to approach running differently.

I switched back to my favorite running shoes, my beloved Mizuno Wave Riders, and started incorporating more rest days into my running routine to allow my legs to heal. I also started using these bad boys religiously. Every time I have run, I have worn these.

Image courtesy of CEPCompression

Disclaimer: I am not a paid representative of CEP, rather, this is just my personal experience while using their compression sleeves.

I really have noticed some amazing results just in the few short weeks that I’ve worn these! My shins no longer hurt when I run (other than the usual tightness that gets worked-out after my warm-up) and my legs feel so.much.stronger.

I like the sleeves in particular because I can’t even imagine putting these suckers on over my whole foot. They are crazy tight…but in a good way! 😀

So if you’ve been struggling with leg pain, shin-splints, lack of stability, etc, etc, GET UP, run/walk/skip/jump/drive to your local running store (or any store that carries LEGIT compression gear) and GETCHA SOME!!! 😉 Your legs will thank you.

…And they lived happily ever after. The End.

About Running and Riley

Hello! My name is Julie. I'm a mother, working professional, aspiring runner, dancing and music addict, and general goof ball. I'm by no means a professional blogger...or writer...or photographer (wait, why am I blogging again? Just kidding!), so please excuse the many grammatical errors that are sure to appear on my little blog. I started runningandriley to chronicle some of my life's events, keep track of my workouts, and maybe inspire a few people along the way to live every day to the fullest! So welcome and I hope you join me on this journey! Love, Julie

One response »

  1. Pingback: Ready to go some more! « One Hot Mess-y Mamma

Leave a Reply

