Blast from the past

Standard

So last weekend was pretty awesome…so much so that I’ve been reveling in its awesomeness for four whole days apparently. I think it’s time to update you on what all went down. Better late than never though, right? I thought so!

The weekend started off right because on Friday night, I met up with three good friends for pedi’s, dinner at PF Changs, and a movie. We saw The Lucky One. Have any of you seen that? I thought it was okay… a little cheesy for my taste. I’m a sucker for a good romance/romantic-comedy, but come on, some of those lines were just ridiculous.

I woke up bright and early on Saturday to get in a quick workout and head to my hair appointment. I had been waiting for Saturday for MONTHS because it was my 11 year grade school reunion. Yeah, you read that correctly – GRADE SCHOOL.

Whenever I told people that I had my grade school reunion on Saturday, they looked at me like I was a crazy person. I would just smile and say “You have to remember, I grew up in a SUPER small town and went to a SUPER small Catholic grade school where everyone knew everyone”. I not only went through 8 years of grade school with those people, most of them I have known literally since I was 6 months old because we went to the same daycare. And of course, we all went to high school together.

I keep up with almost everyone I went to grade school with, but there were some people who I haven’t seen in a while. It was really great to spend time with everyone and reminisce!

DSCN0272                DSCN0274

It was SUPER hot here this past weekend – 92 degrees on Saturday – and our reunion was at one of the wineries in my hometown.

Sidenote: Most people probably don’t think of Missouri as a good winery destination, but it is! I grew up in the Marthasville/Augusta area of Missouri and there is an abundance of wineries, beautiful hills, and wonderful people! If you ever get a chance to take a wine tour, let me know!

DSCN0275                       DSCN0276                    DSCN0314

We went to my favorite winery, Balducci’s, where one of my oldest and dearest BFF’s, Lisa, and I shared a bottle of wine.

DSCN0267

Because it was so hot, after we finished it, we decided it would be best to switch over to beer and alternate with bottles of water.

Good thing we did because after a few hours, things started to get a little cray, cray.

DSCN0295                   DSCN0308                           DSCN0296                  DSCN0283

I told you I loved to dance…..I also apparently like playing the maraca’s…and air guitar.

The wineries closed at 8, so we headed into Washington, MOto get some dinner and hang out a little more. We stopped at The Beer Deck for some dinner and drinks. The Beer Deck is located smack-dab in the middle of Front Street in Washington and overlooks the Missouri River. It has really good food, a huge assortment of beer, and GORGEOUS views.

DSCN0317                      DSCN0318              DSCN0319

Around 10:30, the day’s activities and the heat started taking it’s toll and we all decided to call it a day.

It was soo nice to go back home and even more nice to see my old friends that had such a huge influence on my childhood. 🙂

Question(s) of the Day:

Have any of you seen The Lucky One?

Do you like going to wineries?

Do you keep in touch with old friends from your grade school/high school/ college?

About Running and Riley

Hello! My name is Julie. I'm a mother, working professional, aspiring runner, dancing and music addict, and general goof ball. I'm by no means a professional blogger...or writer...or photographer (wait, why am I blogging again? Just kidding!), so please excuse the many grammatical errors that are sure to appear on my little blog. I started runningandriley to chronicle some of my life's events, keep track of my workouts, and maybe inspire a few people along the way to live every day to the fullest! So welcome and I hope you join me on this journey! Love, Julie

Leave a Reply

