This is where the magic happens…

Standard

DSCN0226

What were you expecting?? Winking smile

After the gym, I was in the mood for a delicious but light dinner: filling, versatile, and heavy on the veggies. I immediately thought of stuffed peppers. I went home and started working on my masterpiece.

I started off by taking two packages of ground turkey breast (make sure you buy turkey breast and not just regular ground turkey- regular ground turkey has more fat because the skin is ground up along with the meat – GROSS!) I chopped a small Vidalia onion and added it to a skillet with one tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil. Once the onion was translucent, I added the turkey. As the turkey began to brown, I added in 1 tsp. sea salt, 1 tbsp. garlic pepper, 1 tbsp. chili powder, and 1 tbsp. cumin. Its really important to season the meat as it is cooking so all the flavors can absorb into it. If you do it after it is cooking, it won’t be as flavorful.

After the turkey was cooked through, I took a can of reduced sodium black beans and a can of reduced sodium diced tomatoes and added them into the mix.

DSCN0235 Mmm…yummy! But wait- I made it even MORE delicious! I told you that I wanted a dish that was heavy on the veggies…I also wanted it to be a green and to be able to hold it’s own in the dish. So what did I choose?

Why KALE, of course! Open-mouthed smile I added two cups of chopped kale to the mix, along with 1/4 cup of reduced sodium chicken broth so the kale could wilt and become tender.

DSCN0236

Looks like a lot, but trust me, once it wilted, it greatly reduced in size. See?

DSCN0238

I then took my four organic peppers, cut the tops, and took out the ribs (the insides of the pepper- be sure to get all the seeds out).

DSCN0230                                 DSCN0234

Note* I always buy organic peppers. I’ve found that non-organic peppers definitely have a chemical taste to them. ICK! Believe me, the taste of chemicals would ruin this dish…or any dish for that matter.

Once my peppers were prepared, I loaded them up with the turkey mixture, and threw them in a 400 degree oven for 20 minutes. You may, or may not, want to cook the peppers for more or less time. I prefer my peppers to still have a little texture and not be mushy…so 20 minutes is perfect for me. Also, you may be thinking “Julie, that sure looks like a lot of filling for four measly peppers.” And you’re right, it is. But rest assured, dear friends, I have other plans for the remainder of the filling…I’m thinking egg burritos and tacos. Tasty!

 DSCN0239

While the peppers were baking, I prepared some delicious guacamole with fresh lime juice and yellow Sunburst tomatoes (my favorite!). After 20 minutes, I pulled those babies out! Instead of cheese as a topping, I put a dollop of guac and garnished with a Sunburst tomato. The guac adds amazing richness and tang to the peppers- avocado is nature’s mayonnaise after all! Except it is WAY better for you. Just keep in mind that you need to watch how much avocado/guac you intake. While it is rich in Omega-3’s, it is also high in calories.

DSCN0243                                   DSCN0244

Oh hey! What’s that you say? Why is there a box of Band Aid’s and a bottle of hydrogen peroxide in the background? Well, funny you should ask, my friends. You see the guac on my delicious, innocent pepper? Well, the avocado decided to give me some trouble and I straight up stabbed myself in the hand trying to get the seed out. Yeah, I have no idea how it even happened…I was traumatized though and immediately made Ryan fetch me medicine, bandages, and chocolate. Immediate consumption of chocolate is standard procedure when you stab yourself, right? I thought so, AMA, take note!

Avocado: 1

Julie: 0

Regardless of the stabbing, I managed to haphazardly eat my dinner, and let me tell you, IT WAS DELICIOUS!! I hope you enjoy this recipe cause I know I will definitely be making it again! Have a great night!

Julie

About Running and Riley

Hello! My name is Julie. I'm a mother, working professional, aspiring runner, dancing and music addict, and general goof ball. I'm by no means a professional blogger...or writer...or photographer (wait, why am I blogging again? Just kidding!), so please excuse the many grammatical errors that are sure to appear on my little blog. I started runningandriley to chronicle some of my life's events, keep track of my workouts, and maybe inspire a few people along the way to live every day to the fullest! So welcome and I hope you join me on this journey! Love, Julie

Leave a Reply

