Weekend and Surprise Tornado’s

Standard

Good evening! I hope you all had a lovely day!

This morning’s breakfast wasn’t anything special, just a whole wheat bagel with almond butter and half of a very sad looking banana (which I don’t have pictures of).

Since I have a full-time day job, it’s a little difficult to take pictures without someone in my office thinking I’m either crazy or saying I’m violating HIPPA – and trust me, I DO NOT want anyone saying that! That would be bad news bears. I DID manage to snap one pic today though: my beautiful salad that I had for lunch!

IMG_0232

Greens with grilled asparagus, grilled chicken, grapes, strawberries, and a dash of balsamic vinegar. (I’m not the biggest dressing-eater, so usually a little lemon juice or vinegar, and salt and pepper will do it for me.)

As you know, this weekend was the end to my three-year racing hiatus. After the race, I headed home to shower and Ryan and I went to meet up with our best friends, Megan and Bryan (who are married), for lunch. Since Riley was at his dad’s this weekend, Ryan and I took the opportunity to relax.

DSCN0174

After showering, Ry and I headed to a local Irish pub called McGurks.

DSCN0170

The weather, contrary to what the news had been saying all week, was actually delightful: sunny, warm, and breezy. So we decided to take full advantage of the really beautiful outdoor bar and patio at McGurk’s.

DSCN0185                         DSCN0186                               DSCN0187

Post race brews were enjoyed…

DSCN0171

Along with a tasty salad that had a delicious portabella mushroom on top. Sooooo good!

DSCN0176

After some delicious food, a few beers, and a photo shoot…we decided to head back to Bry and Meg’s to BBQ and play bags (or corn hole- whatever you wanna call it).

DSCN0180                          DSCN0182                           DSCN0183

Right as we were leaving, the weather turned a little ugly and it started to rain. Sad smile  So we decided to make the most of it and use the good ol’ fashion oven to cook our food. We had chicken and veggie kabob’s, fresh corn on the cob, and delicious baked sweet potato wedges with cinnamon, sea salt, and finished with a sprinkle of parmesan cheese.

After dinner, we decided to play some games! But little did we know, crazy weather was on it’s way! What started out like this:

DSCN0188                         DSCN0190                         DSCN0189

Quickly turned to this:

DSCN0192                               DSCN0194

And ended with the tornado sirens going off and all of us scrambling to the basement for cover. When we walked outside after the sirens went off, this is what we found: golf ball-size hail!!! (My poor car!!! Sad smile)

DSCN0195

Afterwards,  Ryan inspected my car for hail damage and it was very minimal. Our house wasn’t so lucky though. Sad smile  After I determined Riley was okay and the storms had passed, I could relax again. Ryan and I played a few games of Farkle (have any of you ever played this game?! It’s SOOO much fun!) and decided to call it a night.  All in all, a joyous weekend!

See you all tomorrow!!

About Running and Riley

Hello! My name is Julie. I'm a mother, working professional, aspiring runner, dancing and music addict, and general goof ball. I'm by no means a professional blogger...or writer...or photographer (wait, why am I blogging again? Just kidding!), so please excuse the many grammatical errors that are sure to appear on my little blog. I started runningandriley to chronicle some of my life's events, keep track of my workouts, and maybe inspire a few people along the way to live every day to the fullest! So welcome and I hope you join me on this journey! Love, Julie

Leave a Reply

